Wednesday’s Child: the Clausen sons

This gravestone was discovered on a walk through a small-town Iowa cemetery … on a search for the final resting places of our Clausen ancestors. The discovery of a gravestone for Clausen children came as a surprise. J.J. and M.J., the infant boys’ parents as inscribed on the stone, were most likely our great grandparents, Jacob and Martha.

One is struck in researching family history by the more prevalent loss of infants in earlier centuries. The children rest in peace, and my prayer is that their parents found a measure of the same until they were reunited.

He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart… (Isaiah 40:11)

(Wednesday’s Child is a weekly blogging prompt from Geneabloggers focusing on the gravestones of children.)

This entry was posted in Clausen, CLOUD OF WITNESSES ... COMMUNION OF SAINTS, IOWA (ALL), IOWA (Central) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wednesday’s Child: the Clausen sons

  1. Sheryl says:

    The gravestone is lovely. You can tell that even though the boys died as infants, that they were loved and missed. In my family history there are several infants who died–and in general I have no idea where the infant gravesites are. I think they probably were buried in unmarked graves.

    • ljhlaura says:

      The gravestone was a surprise, but I found it very touching. I believe still others in my family tree also may have died as infants, but as yet I have not located those graves…

  2. Jana Last says:

    So sad! I wonder if the infant sons were twins. It’s too bad there aren’t names and dates on the gravestone. But as was said by Sheryl, it is lovely. I’ve never seen one with a carved lamb on it before.

    • ljhlaura says:

      Hi, Jana … I kind of assume that they were twins, but I am not certain – I’d like to find more information. They were likely born around the turn of the 20th century, but it could have been on either side of it…

  3. Susan Bahr says:

    Isn’t this amazing! I love family history – my mom’s side is from Chickasaw, Iowa – the Randalls go way back there. Can’t wait to spend some time on your site – lovely, lovely…

    • ljhlaura says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by and for your kind remarks … I haven’t made it to Chickasaw yet, but I think it’s just a little ways north of where some of my Iowa roots are … I think it’s a beautiful state!

Leave a Reply

