Photo mysteries

BertPetra2I have only a few photographs of my great grandmother, Petra Hendrickson. Here she is, on the far right, with her daughter, my great Aunt Bert. I wonder where they were going that day in those smart hats. And who thought to take this candid photo? I remember visiting my Aunt Bert, a lovely lady, in later years when she was living in Sioux City, Iowa, but this photo is from well before I was born. It provides no notes as to the location pictured, but this scene is most likely to have been in central Iowa, in the Webster City area, where they lived most of their lives … possibly Illinois … but most likely Iowa. The sign on the building behind them could be a clue. Another woman in a lighter-toned coat and hat appears to be walking behind them. I’ve tried to enlarge the background detail, but unfortunately, the resulting images were not clear enough to provide new information.

I happened upon this photo in an old album I’d not looked at for a long time. The picture was most likely taken around the 1940s (or ’30s). I appreciate the photo even with the mystery location, as I can see hints of my grandfather in both of these women. I’ve found some photos on the Internet of downtown Webster City from that era but have not located a similar-looking building. Perhaps they were traveling and in another city. If anyone recognizes this location, please let me know!

This entry was posted in Hendrickson, IOWA (ALL), IOWA (Central), Malum and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Photo mysteries

  1. I have several photographs that I am not sure of the location. It can definitely be frustrating!

  2. vanbraman says:

    We have a few mystery photos among our family pictures. They can be really frustrating to try and figure out.

    • ljhlaura says:

      I know what you mean! Frustrating but also intriguing, in a way, I think … It’s made me more thoughtful about including info with photos … maybe not better at it, but at least more thoughtful … :-)

  3. Sheryl says:

    What a wonderful candid photo. I love the expressions on both women’s faces. Your great-grandmother looks like she was really enjoying the outing (whatever and wherever it was).

    • ljhlaura says:

      Thanks … One of the things I love about candid photos is the more authentic expressions on people’s faces. They do both look content with the outing. Would love to know who took the photo and why!

  4. Pingback: Rockets in Flight! Women’s Rights! It’s Follow Friday! | finding forgotten stories

  5. Janet Rutherford says:

    Back around that time photographers were on the street and would take pictures of people walking along and then sell them the photo. Perhaps that is how the photo came to be. I have one of my mother-in-law and her sister quite a bit like the one you have.

    • ljhlaura says:

      Wow, I didn’t know that! That’s a possibility. If that’s what happened, I’m glad the photographer snapped the photo. I suppose I might never know…. Thanks for the note and for stopping by…

Leave a Reply

