Treasure Chest Thursday … and Happy Thanksgiving!

cedarchest2In counting my blessings this Thanksgiving, I know that among the blessings of family are my late grandparents. I have certain distinct memories of my maternal grandmother, and many of them involve needlework. She sewed, crocheted, and knitted regularly … as a matter of course. She did it often and well. In addition to many doilies and tablecloths, she created afghans for her grandchildren. A couple of those items are pictured here. I’m grateful now to have not just a special place to put a few of these items, but yet another memory of my grandmother … thanks to the thoughtfulness of some dear family who have shared with me a cedar chest, pictured here, that belonged to my grandmother for as long as anyone from my mother’s generation can remember. My kindhearted aunt and uncle drove it down to Texas from the Midwest and helped me find a place for it. I’m exceptionally thankful to them and to my cousins for knowing that something like this would be special to me.

And, of course, I cannot let Thanksgiving pass by without taking the time to express gratitude for the blessings that are so easy to take for granted every day … when we don’t take enough time to stop feeling entitled and ponder them. One of my blessings is being able to take a few minutes on this day to share and catch up with my fellow family history bloggers. Looking forward to a peaceful and bountiful day with family and wishing everyone a blessed Thanksgiving … wherever and however you are spending it. Happy Thanksgiving!

Treasure Chest Thursday is a weekly blogging prompt from geneabloggers, encouraging family history bloggers to blog about a family treasure, heirloom or every-day item important to one’s family.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Treasure Chest Thursday … and Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. What a special treasure! Very blessed to have this reminder of your grandmother! Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. Sheryl says:

    The tablecloth in the picture brings back wonderful memories of a tablecloth my family used on holidays when I was a child.

Leave a Reply

