Why blog?

When I started my family history project, it was a pretty haphazard enterprise. I talked to my family and looked here and there for bits of information that might answer specific questions. About some people, I already knew a great deal. About others, not so much. Mostly I was interested in learning a bit more about the specific individuals who migrated here.

However, the more I learned, the more I wanted to know, and the project blossomed into an ongoing and rewarding pastime. I get to learn about my family, often put their stories into a broader historical context … then write about it. For me, that’s a privilege. I sometimes wonder what could be left to discover, whether there’s anything left to share. I guess I’ll find out.

Names are only the first step, and for the most part, the easiest one. It’s the discoveries along the way that give texture to the adventure — reading an ancestor’s letters, discovering the item built by hand, or finally locating elusive gravestones under the shade of a tree. So much happening then, as now. Only wish I’d started earlier.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why blog?

  1. Jess says:

    Love the blog! I’m looking forwarding to reading more of your ancestors’ stories. And I agree, it is the discoveries along the way that give texture to the adventure. Names and dates are vital but it’s a person’s life stories which make researching family history so much more vibrant. :o)

    • ljhlaura says:

      I picked up on that texture in your Finding Family blog right away. It’s what drew me in! Looking forward to having a chance to catch up on your past posts…

Leave a Reply

