In the news … visiting the Kreykes home

Having recently subscribed to an electronic archive of old newspapers, I’m finding several news items to be compelling for family history research. Brief notices in small-town Iowa newspapers about who is visiting from out of town, who is traveling, and who is visiting in whose home for dinner on a given evening have captured my attention because of their simplicity and illustration of everyday life in these communities. They can help to put family photos into a little more context. Copyright, terms of use, and a desire to protect people’s privacy prevent me from making more use of the original articles on this blog; nevertheless, there is much to be learned from these old newspapers, and I hope to share a few “in the news” items here as I explore them.

According to the news of the day, during this very week in 1941, the Woudstras and the Notebooms were guests in the Kreykes home on a Friday evening. I am re-posting the family photo above because it is of two of the Kreykes and Noteboom cousins (my mother’s on the left) during what may have been about the time the notice appeared in the Sioux County (Ia) Capital. The item about that Friday evening appeared as a few lines in the correspondence section with other news about Boyden, and I love that this, like many similar items, mattered enough to somebody to be reported.

This entry was posted in In the news..., IOWA (ALL), IOWA (Sioux County), Kreykes, RESEARCH PROCESS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In the news … visiting the Kreykes home

  1. Sheryl says:

    I also love to read those short notices in old issues of small town papers. They almost seem like they were the “tweets” of their day.

    • ljhlaura says:

      What a great analogy. I hadn’t thought about it before, but now I see the similarities. I’m grateful those old notices give us a little window into the past.

Leave a Reply

