Happy Birthday, Dad …

Today my precious father turns 82 years old.

His journey through life so far has brought him from the prairie towns of Iowa, where he was born, raised, and educated, to the battlefields of Korea, post-war Japan, Native American reservations of the far northern plains and desert Southwest, and most recently, the heart of Texas. Just like the rest of us, a pilgrim on the journey through this earthly life … son, husband, father, grandfather, friend, soldier, student, social worker, voracious reader, child of God … he has already taught me much along the way that I still value, and I’m sure there’s more to come. I treasure the chance to celebrate him on his 82nd birthday.

Happy Birthday, Dad … Love you …

This entry was posted in Hendrickson, IOWA (ALL) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Birthday, Dad …

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your father. And you are right to treasure this birthday celebration with him. What I wouldn’t give to have my dad back. He died in 2003 at the age of 72. Like your father, mine fought in the battlefields of Korea. Does your dad talk much about his time in Korea?

    • ljhlaura says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I know you must miss your father. In fact, my dad really does not talk a lot about his time in Korea … only occasionally, if asked…

  2. Jana Last says:

    What a lovely tribute to your dad! You’re so lucky to still have him around for you to treasure. My father passed away in 2009. He was also a Korean War vet, although he came to Korea after the fighting ended.

  3. molakes says:

    Just beautiful! He was such a cute baby .. I am thinking he is probably still a very handsome man!

  4. Very sweet. Love the picture.

  5. Pingback: Grandfathers I loved | Branch and Leaf … a family history blog

  6. A very nice post for your father.; and a Darling picture to go with it!
    Regards,
    Theresa (Tangled Trees)

Leave a Reply

